Network settings

Share your custom configs, homemade binds, ET related programs, etc.
Veteran
User avatar
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:00
Location: World -> Europe -> Germany -> Swabia

Network settings

Postby Stormcrow » Wed Mar 14, 2007 19:46

Here a short overview:

Modem users
Code: Select all
seta cl_maxpackets "30"
seta snaps "20"
seta rate "5000"


ISDN users
seta cl_maxpackets "60"
seta snaps "40"
seta rate "7000"


DSL
Code: Select all
seta cl_maxpackets "60"
seta snaps "40"
seta rate "25000"


If u have DSL u can test if your ping is getting lower a bit with trying that command

Code: Select all
seta cl_packetdup "0"



ATTENTION my-pen*s-is-bigger - command ;)
Code: Select all
seta cl_timenudge "-20"

You can set it from -20 up to 20, but it does not take effect on your game-behaviour, it only simulates a better ping ;)

And if you think Punkbuster causes lags try
Code: Select all
pb_sleep 500


Feel free to add your own network settings here, maybe it helps other ppl :)

So long,
Stormy
Image
Pls Foxxy, teach me how to "master-bait" :-P

Veteran
User avatar
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:00
Location: World -> Europe -> Germany -> Swabia

Postby Stormcrow » Wed Mar 14, 2007 19:55

My settings are (just copied from my config)

Code: Select all
//Connection
set cl_packetdup "1"
set cl_timenudge "-20"
set rate "30000"
set snaps "40"
set cl_maxpackets "100"
//set net_noipx "0"
//set net_noudp "0"

set pb_sleep "500"
set pb_security   "0"


DSL 3000 with FastPath
Image
Pls Foxxy, teach me how to "master-bait" :-P

Spam Pro
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:00

Postby darkdevil » Wed Mar 14, 2007 20:57

Thnx it really helps^^ :D :D :D

Veteran
User avatar
Posts: 438
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:00
Location: near Hannover

Postby Alkohol » Wed Mar 14, 2007 23:33

i try urs with
Code: Select all
set rate "140000"
caus of i have dsl 16000, but "only" have 14000 by me ^^

must i change somethin from ur config, cause i havent fast path?

Spam Noob
User avatar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:00
Location: Poland

Postby Bagish » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:36

Hmmm my seting :
seta rate 15000
seta snaps 35
seta cl_maxpackets 30
and seta cl_timenudge -50

Spam Kid
User avatar
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 0:00

Postby Vanhaomena » Thu Jun 07, 2007 14:17

Ahh this is why I have trouble hitting anyone.

Spam Kid
User avatar
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 0:00
Location: Germany

Postby CoRpSe » Sun Jun 10, 2007 16:42

can some1 say me what the best confi for DSL2000???

Server High Admin
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 0:00

Postby lis » Sun Jun 10, 2007 17:27

Vanhaomena wrote:Ahh this is why I have trouble hitting anyone.


indeed.

negative nudging does have an effect on in-game behavior. "simulation of low ping" is one way to describe it. but as far as i understood, this simulation happens by changing your model projection. so in effect the nudge value is also the amount of time in milliseconds that separates the model you see from the actual hitbox position. model and hitbox dont correspond when you timenudge - and on close 1on1's the whole thing just warps. in etpro it's considered cheating. and actually, it IS a form of deception, because the only effect it has is that your hitbox is not where your model is. your ping doesnt ever change (it only shows a different number), it has no effect on your connection.

i read somewhere that the existence of the actual command was originally meant to simulate pings for bots. it was never supposed to be a connection setting for clients.

i used to push my ping of 20 to 0 as well by nudging -20. but now that i understand what it is, i can only say:

!ban timenudging

look at other serious servers. it's normal there. B2 manages to force client nudges to 0 without pb kicks - so there must be a way^^

and if there is a 2 minute pb kick, so what? - players who get kicked for negative nudge values obviously set it themselves. so they will surely be able to set it to 0 and reconnect.

Spam Kid
User avatar
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 0:00

Postby RAmpaGE » Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:41

Not exactly like that. If u study the code timenudge is used in the antilag routine. And yes it was used for the bots, so they are not sitting ducks, and to emulate a network link.
Timenudge is affecting not the projection of the model, but makes a simple equasion complete.
here is how it works:
Take the timestamp of client 1, and client 2. Client one firing, do timeshifts(-20 timenudge for example, of lagged packet flow), and see if that exact moment the bullet hit the player. The moment a player presses the firing button, a timestamp is created for that bullet, no matter how late the network packet arrives at the server.
Thats why players with high ping sometime notice they are instantly dead.
For example cause there where 3 bullets fired since the network packets reached the server, and cause of lag they reached the server the same moment. So server makes timeshifts, calculates damage and brodcast to client. CLient dead.

So you would say that timenudge has an effect on gameplay. But it doesnt.
Because:
Every player has a different ping, evrytime u target a player his ping affects your aim, and of course ur ping too.
So something like timenudge is there for all players.
Generally in pings below 60-70 there is no difference, timenudge or not.
The real difference is there only if ur ping is higher than the guy ur aiming.
If u have lets say a ping of 120-130 and the guy ur aiming has 40(and timenudge -20), his bullets where fired 2 times more before he actually hit the fire button. It means that timenudge does what it says, makes timestamps have a small time -- nudge(shift).

So if everybody is using it, and all pings on server are below 100, things are pretty equal.

So generally:
Timenudge is not a benefit cause ur client actually fires before u press the button, but human eye adapts to it, like u adapt when u play with high ping.
Image

Server High Admin
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 0:00

Postby lis » Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:31

RAmpaGE wrote:So you would say that timenudge has an effect on gameplay. But it doesnt.
Because:
Every player has a different ping, evrytime u target a player his ping affects your aim, and of course ur ping too.


makes sense - so in other words, timenudging is just pointless?

anyway, thx for the explanation :) not much info around about this.

Spam Noob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 0:00

Postby DarkDragon » Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:09

Thank you for all these tips...
But i am a bit confused...
Should I use cl_timenudge or not?
Thank you and sorry for reopening an old thread.
Greetings DarkDragon

Official Member
User avatar
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 0:00
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Evil » Tue Aug 12, 2008 19:40

timenudge issnt allow on ps1 right ?
cause i saw a reply from bowdown and if iam correct it issnt on ps1

Event Committee
User avatar
Posts: 2641
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 0:00
Location: .....POLAND............ -|PS|- repository

Postby FALBIK » Tue Aug 12, 2008 20:33

Evil wrote:timenudge issnt allow on ps1 right ?
cause i saw a reply from bowdown and if iam correct it issnt on ps1


BOWDOWN wrote:Anyway , about the timenudge , i made my own opinion, i ve also used it in the past and honestly it stay a kind of crap and usless setting for me, so better avoid eventual problems and put all players in same and fair level. No timenudge except 0 in PS1 .


post : timenudge PS#1 rulez
"Don't walk in front of me, I may not follow; Don't walk behind me, I may not lead; Walk beside me, and just be my friend."

Official Member
User avatar
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 0:00
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Evil » Tue Aug 12, 2008 20:41

FALBIK wrote:
Evil wrote:timenudge issnt allow on ps1 right ?
cause i saw a reply from bowdown and if iam correct it issnt on ps1


BOWDOWN wrote:Anyway , about the timenudge , i made my own opinion, i ve also used it in the past and honestly it stay a kind of crap and usless setting for me, so better avoid eventual problems and put all players in same and fair level. No timenudge except 0 in PS1 .


post : timenudge PS#1 rulez

correct but issnt a bit fustrated for the ps admin to watch over it.
i shall say timenudge just forbidden on each every ps server.
to make ik regular rule if ppl make mistakes with it ?

Spam King
User avatar
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 0:00
Location: elgium, Antwerp !? Xfire: Luxofluxowns

Postby LuXoFluXe » Sun Aug 17, 2008 18:32

does de pen*s command rly works ? :P

Grz =D
Image
Image
lick dem´ pussies.

Spam Noob
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 0:00

Postby DarkDragon » Sun Aug 17, 2008 18:50

LuxoFluxe if you mean about cl_timenudge -20 yes it seems that it lowers your ping a litle... For me from 90-120 ping it gave me 40-65.
But as many have already said this is some kind of virtuall ping that gave you and has no effect so it is waste of time to use it not to mention that by using it in Ps 1 it can offer you a great !warn !kick !ban :p
I hope i am right in what i have said please feel free to correct me if i am wrong.

Or you are joking about the pen* thing :p and i have been writing for no reason...In that case feel free to laugh

Greetz DarkDragon
Image

Official Member
User avatar
Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 0:00
Location: The Netherlands

Postby Samuraii » Sun Aug 17, 2008 20:07

hey i got wireless!

ingame i use not modem or isdn but the other one (at esc->options->system)

what commands i need for this ? :D

would be gladly to hear :)
"Better to light one small candle than to curse the darkness."

Spam Kid
User avatar
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 0:00

Postby Limitbreaker » Sun Aug 17, 2008 21:40

Hello,

I doubt cl_timenudge simulates higher or lower ping... There is no such crap and I haven't heard that Quake3 engine could have such an absurd command. At least this is what I think...

What it is propably is prediction (in most games prediction CVAR has negative value or hardcoded, but still negative) which is bad done - hardcoded, but wrong, which causes intense lag for server (from what I heard from BOWDOWN).

I personally use cl_maxpackets 100 on my 1Mbit downline and works nicely, tho I don't see any real difference between 100 and 50.

Greetings.

Spam Kid
User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 0:00
Location: PS3 Thalheim

Postby freekill » Mon Sep 08, 2008 20:31

hi,
i saw this post with rate and i dont know what rate i must take.
i have dsl 9000 or so.
thx

Spam Noob
User avatar
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:00

Postby DarkPimp » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:28

I play on a fast paced server where everyone plays with timenudge at 0.
I tried setting mine at -20 & it was such a noticeable advantage that I quickly changed it back to 0 (I am an admin there). So believe what you want but it is an unfair advantage on my server.

Spam Lord
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:00

Postby Rainbow » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:52

Hey DarkPimp,
look at the last post before yours:
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:31 pm

Timenudge is forbidden on all PS server for ages now (its in the connecting screen, and you get warned and kicked if you use and dont change it).

Veteran
User avatar
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 0:00
Location: the Netherlands

Postby BlackKiller » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:02

Rainbow, don't be to harsh on him. He comes all the way down to our forums. Suscribes and leave 1 message in this Forum, in this particular topic. I find that amazing, but all you do is telling him the topic is outdated :/

:P
Image

-|PS|->>BlackKiller<<

BTW the dolphin refers to the Black Killer Whale (Yeah, I just made that up after googling blackkiller)

Spam Lord
Posts: 469
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:00

Postby Rainbow » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:47

No i tell him he dont have to worry:
So believe what you want but it is an unfair advantage on my server.

Because this is unfair as he sais and not allowed at the PS servers.

This is my little Xmas-present :D

Spam Noob
User avatar
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:00

Postby DarkPimp » Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:11

Well, server I play on does not enable punkbuster so there are no warnings. We only use punkbuster to save guide so players can have saved xp.

Thanks for the smartass remark though and what a lovely Xmas present it was.

Return to PS Techz0ne

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests